Unpredictable rapper from Ghana, Kay-Ara is back with more vim, more energy as they say in the country also known as Gold coast. The video of his recent single THE ACCRA CITY HUSTLE made by Percy Appiah AKA Fotombo and shot in Accra’s colorful and earthy streets is a live and unpretentious interpretation of the song, a great fit to this bossy track wherein Kay-Ara sounds quite mean, to say the truth.

We love it!

Kay-Ara’s tone in this tune is winning more fans to the Neospiritual- to use his terminology, and from his musical history or Rap-sheet if I may say, he deserves this long due acknowledgement.

AFRIKAJUMP hit him up in his Koforidua base to catch some of his current vibes in 7 questions.

Enjoy.

AFRIKAJUMP- Kay-Ara, etis3n?

KAY-ARA: Me hu y3, I’m good, fine.

AFRIKAJUMP- From your social media in the past few years you seemed to be taking time off active music to concentrate on other goals and now you turn up in this hot video to a rude track, lashing people and what not, are you here for good this time and what have you been up to?

KAY-ARA: In 2013, I made the unfortunate decision of quitting music (for good, my thought at that time). And because of that I sort of cut off ties from social media, social circles and Accra in totality. However, in the last quarter of 2015 after suffering a broken heart I had an epiphany to return to this music business. I’ve been writing since 2015, still doing that so I guess I’m back for good. I’ve been recording a lot of songs. In the latter part of 2016 I recorded 30 song in 2 weeks. I also shot three videos the first of which is currently out.

AFRIKAJUMP- Holy smokes. I am sorry for your heart break but happy it brought you back to your senses. Congrats; for the videos too. What inspired THE ACCRA CITY HUSTLE?

KAY-ARA: Necessity. I’ve hated Accra since 2012 because I believe Accra broke my heart. For about 3 years I hated Accra and didn’t want to have anything to do with it. I therefore clung onto Koftown (Koforidua) where I invested most of my time in academic pursuit, politics and entrepreneurship. However, as it was to me, Koforidua lost the lustre for me and I found myself gravitating towards Accra more and more. It’s funny how around the same time I heard Omar Sterling’s Ibiza beat and I decided to write an ode to the city that causes me pain and joy. I decided to accept to be the big fish in the big city and grind till I get it. After recording that song I called Fotombo up so that we shoot in the streets of Accra to inform everybody that I am back.

img-20170107-wa0005

AFRIKAJUMP- We are proud of you Kay-Ara; how do you feel about the reception of the project?

KAY-ARA: I’m excited! I mean I knew the kind of emotion I wanted to evoke from my audience and so that’s how we shot the video. And my objective for the video was accomplished. Can you imagine Hammer of the Last Two actually hit me up?! Me??? *screams and swoons*

AFRIKAJUMP- Yes we heard; cool one chale. What has been some of your challenges as an artist in your society?

KAY-ARA: Inadequate finance. Non-acceptance of new ideas with respect to the society, Prejudice and stereotypes. Classism (very serious issue in the music business), Lack of investors for initiatives. Poor mechanisms that do not work in favour of artiste. Pull him down mentality.

img-20161129-wa0003

AFRIKAJUMP- I feel you bro. Do you want to share something with us you feel we should know?

KAY-ARA: Tell the kids not to choose this career path. Also, Accra is amazing because of new movements springing out. Koforidua is ripe for investment. I am about to f**k s**t up!

AFRIKAJUMP- Damn, that first line… I can’t say I don’t understand brother. Can you describe your city in one word? Or two.

KAY-ARA: Alive!

Fam, you read the man, he’s back and for good this time. Peep the new track and video below; and show him love by linking to his internet pages. Peace

 

 

https://www.instagram.com/kayunderscoreara/

https://soundcloud.com/kay_ara

